Record Details

Catalog Search

Related electronic resources

Currently available copies

  • 115 out of 117 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show copies)
  • 2 out of 2 copies are currently available at Bartram Trail Regional Library. (Show copies)
  • 1 out of 1 copy are currently available at Mary Willis Library.

Current holds

0 current holds on 117 total copies.

Library System: Library Branch Name
Find the name of the library system and branch closest to you.
Shelving Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Status
Bartram Trail Regional Library:
      Mary Willis Library
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
50587010753064 Available

Item details

  • ISBN: 0375501371 (acid-free paper)
  • ISBN: 9780375501371 (acid-free paper)
  • Physical Description: xiv, 537 p. ; 25 cm.
  • Edition: 1st trade ed.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, c1998.

Contents / Notes

First Sentences: An Introduction to A Widow for One Year / John Irving -- Summer 1958 -- The Inadequate Lamp Shade -- Summer Job -- A Sound Like Someone Trying Not to Make a Sound -- Unhappy Mothers -- Marion, Waiting -- Eddie Is Bored--and Horny, Too -- The Door in the Floor -- A Masturbating Machine -- Come Hither ... -- The Pawn -- Ruth's Right Eye -- Dumping Mrs. Vaughn -- Why Panic at Ten O'Clock in the Morning? -- How the Writer's Assistant Became a Writer -- Something Almost Biblical -- The Authority of the Written Word -- A Motherless Child -- The Leg -- Working for Mr. Cole -- Leaving Long Island -- Fall 1990 -- Eddie at Forty-Eight -- Ruth at Thirty-Six -- The Red and Blue Air Mattress -- Allan at Fifty-Four -- Hannah at Thirty-Five -- Ted at Seventy-Seven -- Ruth Remembers Learning to Drive -- Two Drawers -- Pain in an Unfamiliar Place -- Ruth Gives Her Father a Driving Lesson -- A Widow for the Rest of Her Life -- Ruth's Diary, and Selected Postcards -- The First Meeting -- Ruth Changes Her Story -- Not a Mother, Not Her Son -- The Moleman -- Followed Home from the Flying Food Circus -- Chapter One -- Missing Persons -- The Standoff -- Ruth's First Wedding -- Fall 1995 -- The Civil Servant -- The Reader -- The Prostitute's Daughter -- Sergeant Hoekstra Finds His Witness -- In Which Eddie O'Hare Falls in Love Again -- Mrs. Cole -- Better Than Being in Paris with a Prostitute -- In Which Eddie and Hannah Fail to Reach an Agreement -- A Happy Couple, Their Two Unhappy Friends -- Marion at Seventy-Six.
Summary, etc.:
A girl discovers her mother in bed with a teenage boy and later the mother abandons her. Meanwhile, her father is seducing young girls. So begins the story of Ruth Cole, a famous writer struggling to overcome childhood traumas and find love.
Additional Physical Form Available:
Also issued online.
Subject: Women novelists > Fiction.
Single mothers > Fiction.
Widows > Fiction.
Love stories.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Love stories.

Additional Resources