Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



We loved it all : a memory of life  Cover Image Book Book

We loved it all : a memory of life / Lydia Millet.

Summary:

"A personal evocation of the glory of nature, our vexed position in the animal kingdom, and the difficulty of adoring what we destroy. Acclaimed novelist Lydia Millet's first work of nonfiction, We Loved It All, is a genre-defying tour de force that makes an impassioned argument for people to see their emotional and spiritual lives as infinitely dependent on the lives of nonhuman beings. Drawing on a quarter-century of experience as an advocate for endangered species at the Center for Biological Diversity, Millet offers intimate portraits of what she calls "the others"--the extraordinary animals with whom we still share the world, along with those already lost. Humans, too, fill this book, as Millet touches on the lives of her world-traveling parents, fascinating partners and friends, and colorful relatives, from diplomats to nut farmers--all figures in the complex tapestry each of us weaves with the surrounding world. Written in the tradition of Annie Dillard or Robert Macfarlane, We Loved It All is an incantatory work that will appeal to anyone concerned about the future of life on earth--including our own"-- Provided by publisher.

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781324073659
  • ISBN: 1324073659
  • Physical Description: 254 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : W. W. Norton & Company, Inc., [2024]

Contents / Notes

Formatted Contents Note:
When the perfect comes -- Mine eyes have seen the glory -- Ring the bells.
Subject: Millet, Lydia, 1968-
Authors, American > 20th century > Biography.
Human-animal relationships.
Écrivains américains > 20e siècle > Biographies.
Relations homme-animal.
Authors, American
Human-animal relationships
American authors > Biography.
Animal behavior.
Endangered species.
Genre: Autobiographies.
autobiographies (literary works)
NATURE / Essays.
Biographies
Autobiographies.
Autobiographies.

Currently available copies

  • 4 out of 12 copies are currently available at PINES.

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 12 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Clayton County Library System:
      Forest Park Branch
813 MILL ( Send Text)
31012007281171 BOOKS In process
Clayton County Library System:
      Headquarters Library
813 MILL ( Send Text)
31012007281189 BOOKS Reshelving
Clayton County Library System:
      Northwest Branch
813 MILL ( Send Text)
31012007281197 BOOKS In process
Clayton County Library System:
      Riverdale Branch
813 MILL ( Send Text)
31012007281205 BOOKS In process
Flint River Regional Library System:
      Fayette County Public Library
813.54 MILLET ( Send Text)
31022010439823 ADULT In process
Flint River Regional Library System:
      Peachtree City Library
813.54 MILLET ( Send Text)
31022010432448 ADULT Checked out
Greater Clarks Hill Regional Library:
      Columbia County Library
B Millet ( Send Text)
31100003001550 New Books - Adult Checked out
Jefferson County Library:
      Louisville Public Library
B MILLET ( Send Text)
31029005542719 NEW-BKS Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Islands Library
B MILLET ( Send Text)
31008000449457 NONFIC Checked out
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Oglethorpe Mall Library
B MILLET ( Send Text)
31008000449459 OM SECOND FLOOR Available


Additional Resources