Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results filters

Filtered by:

Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 1

Lilith  Cover Image Book Book

Lilith

Marmery, Nikki (author.).

Summary: "In the tradition of Madeline Miller and Claire North, Lilith is the story of the first woman, who was expelled from Paradise for disobedience. In this retelling of the Hebrew myth that justified and explained woman's subjection to man, Lilith will have her revenge - however long it takes. In the Garden of Eden, at the beginning of time, an outrageous lie is born: that women are inferior. Lilith and Adam are equal and happy in the Garden of Eden. Until Adam decides Lilith should submit to his will and lie beneath him. She refuses - and is banished forever from Paradise. Demonized and sidelined, Lilith watches in fury as God creates Eve, the woman who accepts her submission. But Lilith has a secret: she has already tasted the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge. Endowed with Wisdom, she knows why Asherah - God's wife and equal, the Queen of Heaven - is missing. Lilith has a plan: she will rescue Eve, find Asherah, restore balance to the world and regain her rightful place in Paradise. Lilith's quest for justice drives her throughout history, from the ziggurats of Ancient Sumer to the court of Israel's Queen Jezebel, and to the side of a radical preacher in Roman Judea. In the modern age, as she observes the catastrophic consequences of a world built on inequality, Lilith finally understands what must be done to correct the wrong done to women - and all humankind - at the beginning of time. Inspired by ancient myths and suppressed scriptures, Lilith is a thought-provoking and ambitious novel with an evocative literary voice and a triumphantly engaging heroine." --Goodreads.

Item details

  • ISBN: 1639105719
  • ISBN: 9781639105717
  • Physical Description: 358 pages : 21 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Alcove Press, 2023
Subject: Equality Fiction
Exile (Punishment) Fiction
Paradise Fiction
Women Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 1 out of 3 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show)
  • 0 out of 1 copy are currently available at Athens Regional Library System.

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 3 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
FIC MARMERY ( Send Text)
31001006171624 NEW-BKS Checked out

Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources