Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results filters

Filtered by:

Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 1

Collision of power : Trump, Bezos, and The Washington Post  Cover Image Book Book

Collision of power : Trump, Bezos, and The Washington Post

Baron, Martin 1954- (author.).

Summary: "A monumental work of nonfiction that gives a first-row seat to the epic power struggle between politics, money, media, and tech -- for fans of Maggie Haberman's Confidence Man and Jane Mayer's Dark Money. Marty Baron took charge of The Washington Post newsroom in 2013, after nearly a dozen years leading The Boston Globe. Just seven months into his new job, Baron received explosive news: Jeff Bezos, the founder of Amazon, would buy the Post, marking a sudden end to control by the venerated family that had presided over the paper for 80 years. Just over two years later, Donald Trump won the presidency. Now, the capital's newspaper, owned by one of the world's richest men, was tasked with reporting on a president who had campaigned against the press as the "lowest form of humanity." Pressures on Baron and his colleagues were immense and unrelenting, having to meet the demands of their new owner while contending with a president who waged a war of unprecedented vitriol and vengeance against the media. In the face of Trump's unceasing attacks, Baron steadfastly managed the Post's newsroom. Their groundbreaking and award-winning coverage included stories about Trump's purported charitable giving, misconduct by the Secret Service, and Roy Moore's troubling sexual history. At the same time, Baron managed a restive staff during a period of rapidly changing societal dynamics around gender and race. In Collision of Power, Baron recounts this with the tenacity of a reporter and the sure hand of an experienced editor. The result is elegant and revelatory-an urgent exploration of the nature of power in the 21st century"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781250844200
  • ISBN: 1250844207
  • ISBN: 9781250844217
  • Physical Description: print
    viii, 548 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Flatiron Books, 2023.

Contents / Notes

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references (pages 485-531) and index.
Formatted Contents Note: "Take the gift" -- Top secrets -- Regime change -- Badass -- Showtime -- "Don't worry about me" -- The Russia riddle -- Democracy dies in darkness -- Explosions -- The owner -- Work, not war -- Murder in mind -- Truth and lies -- Scandals -- The powers that be -- Accuser and accused -- Twitter storms -- Uprisings -- Plague of deceit -- The plot against democracy.
Subject: Baron, Martin 1954-
Journalists United States Biography
Newspaper editors United States Biography
Trump, Donald 1946- Press coverage
Presidents Press coverage United States History 21st century
Washington post (Washington, D.C. : 1974) Washington post (Washington, D.C. : 1974) History
United States Politics and government 2017-2021
Journalistes États-Unis Biographies
États-Unis Politique et gouvernement 2017-2021
HISTORY / United States / 21st Century
POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies / Democracy
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Media Studies
Trump, Donald 1946-
Washington post (Washington, D.C. : 1974) Washington post (Washington, D.C. : 1974)
Journalists
Newspaper editors
Politics and government
Presidents Press coverage
Press coverage
United States
Journalists Biography
Editors Biography
Presidents
United States Politics and government
Genre: autobiographies (literary works)
Biographies
History
Autobiographies.
Autobiographies.

Currently available copies

  • 21 out of 25 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show)
  • 0 out of 1 copy are currently available at Athens Regional Library System.

Holds

  • 1 current hold on 25 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
NONFIC 070.4109 BARON ( Send Text)
31001006169727 NEW-BKS Checked out

Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources