Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The last of the seven : a novel of World War II  Cover Image Book Book

The last of the seven : a novel of World War II / Steven Hartov.

Hartov, Steven, (author.).

Summary

Summary:

"A spellbinding novel of World War II based on the little-known history of the X Troop--a team of European Jews who escaped the Continent only to join the British Army and return home to exact their revenge on Hitler's military. A lone soldier wearing a German uniform stumbles into a British military camp in the North African desert with an incredible story to tell. He is the only survivor of an undercover operation meant to infiltrate a Nazi base, trading on the soldiers' perfect fluency in German. However, this man is not British-born but instead a German Jew seeking revenge for the deaths of his family back home in Berlin. As the Allies advance into Europe, the young lieutenant is brought to recover in Sicily. There he is recruited by a British major to join the newly formed X Troop, a commando unit composed of German and Austrian Jews training for a top secret mission at a nearby camp in the Sicilian hills. They are all "lost boys," driven not by patriotism but by vengeance. Drawing on meticulous research into this unique group of soldiers, The Last of the Seven is a lyrical, propulsive historical novel perfect for fans of Mark Sullivan, Robert Harris and Alan Furst."--provided by publisher.

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781335050106
  • ISBN: 1335050108
  • Physical Description: 360 pages ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : Hanover Square Press, [2022]
Subject: Great Britain. Combined Operations Command. Commando, 10th. No. 3 Troop > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Commando operations > Great Britain > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Campaigns > Europe > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Secret service > Great Britain > Biography > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Jews > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
War fiction.
Novels.

Currently available copies

  • 0 / 1 copies available at PINES

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 1 total copy.
Find the nearest copy:
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Greater Clarks Hill Regional Library:
      Lincoln County Library
FIC Hartov
Send SMS Text
31100002304328 New Books - Adult In process


Additional Resources