Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The devil's dictionary  Cover Image Book Book

The devil's dictionary

Summary

Summary: "New York Times bestselling author Steven Kotler's follow up to Last Tango, a near-future thriller about the evolution of empathy in the tradition of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson. Hard to say when the human species fractured exactly. Harder to say when this new talent arrived. But Lion Zorn, protagonist of Last Tango, is the first of his kind-an empathy tracker, an emotional soothsayer, with a felt sense for the future of the we. In simpler terms, he can spot cultural shifts and trends before they happen. The Devil's Dictionary finds Lion Zorn enmeshed with a strange subculture: polyamorous crypto-currency fiends with a tendency toward eco-terrorism. These crypto-eco-punks have executed the largest land grab in U.S. history, buying up huge swatches of the American west to establish the world's first mega-linkage. This unbroken tract of wild lands stretching from Yellowstone to Yukon is meant to protect biodiversity and stave off the Sixth Great Extinction, but something's rotten in Eden. Instead of saving existing species, exotic creatures unlike anything seen on Earth keep turning up. Called in to track down the origin of these exotics, Lion quickly finds himself entangled in a battle for the survival of our species"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 1250202094
  • ISBN: 9781250202093
  • Physical Description: 336 pages ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2022.
Subject: Cryptocurrencies Fiction
Corridors (Ecology) Fiction
Ecological reserves Fiction
Animals, Mythical Fiction
Genre: Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 4 / 7 copies available at PINES (Show)
  • 0 / 2 copies available at Athens Regional Library System

Holds

  • 0 current holds on 7 total copies.
Find the nearest copy:
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
SF KOTLER
Send SMS Text
31001005199949 NEW-BKS Checked out
Athens Regional Library System:
      Watkinsville/Oconee County Library
SF KOTLER
Send SMS Text
31001005207783 NEW-BKS Checked out


Additional Resources