Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The house uptown  Cover Image Book Book

The house uptown

Ginsburg, Melissa (author.).

Summary

Summary: "For fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, Melissa Ginsburg's The House Uptown is an emotional coming-of-age novel about a young girl who goes to live with her eccentric grandmother in New Orleans after the death of her mother. Ava, 14 years old and totally on her own, has still not fully processed her mother's death when she finds herself on a train heading to New Orleans, going to stay with Lane, her grandmother whom she's never met. Lane is a well-known artist in the New Orleans art scene. She spends most of her days in a pot-smoke haze, sipping iced coffee, and working on the mural that has been her singular focus for years. Her grip on reality is shaky at best, but her work provides a comfort. Ava's arrival unsettles Lane. The girl bears an uncanny resemblance to her daughter, whom she was estranged from before her death. Now her presence is dredging up painful and disturbing memories, which forces Lane to retreat even further into her own mind. Ava, meanwhile, is entranced and frightened by her grandmother. She wants to be included in her eccentric life, but can't quite navigate Lane's tempestuous moods. Attempting to keep the peace is Oliver, Lane's assistant and confidant. As this unlikely trio attempts to find their way and form a bond, the oppressive heat and history of New Orleans bears down on them, forcing them to a reckoning none of them is ready for"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 1250784182
  • ISBN: 9781250784186
  • Physical Description: 244 pages ; 22 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2021.
Subject: New Orleans (La.) Fiction
Artists Fiction
Grandmothers Fiction
Parents Death Fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Genre: Bildungsromans.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Mystery fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 9 / 13 copies available at PINES

Holds

  • 0 current holds
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
MYS GINSBURG
Send SMS Text
31001004008638 NEW-BKS Checked out
Clayton County Library System:
      Headquarters Library
A FIC GINSBURG, MELISSA
Send SMS Text
31012005837750 STACKS Available
Dougherty County Public Library:
      Central Branch
F GINSBURG MELISSA
Send SMS Text
31018904795056 FIC Available
Dougherty County Public Library:
      Northwest Branch
F GINSBURG MELISSA
Send SMS Text
31018904755449 FIC Available
Flint River Regional Library System:
      Fayette County Public Library
GINSBURG
Send SMS Text
31022010142641 ADULT Checked out
Lake Blackshear Regional Library System:
      Dooly County Library
Gin M.
Send SMS Text
31031000186294 Adult Fiction Available
Lake Blackshear Regional Library System:
      Lake Blackshear Regional Library
Gin M.
Send SMS Text
31031000186302 Adult Fiction Available
Lee County Public Library:
      Oakland Branch
F GINS
Send SMS Text
31032006383372 ADULT Checked out
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Garden City Library
F GINS
Send SMS Text
31008000813291 NEW Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Southwest Chatham Library
F GINS
Send SMS Text
31008000813275 NEW Checked out
Next 10 »

Loading Recommendations...

LDR 02866cam a2200469ii 4500
0016273736
003GaAaGPL
00520210316135445.0
008200915s2021 nyu e 000 1 eng
010 . ‡a 2020042060
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dYDX ‡dBDX ‡dIFK ‡dFNN ‡dJAS ‡dIH9 ‡dOCLCO
020 . ‡a9781250784186 ‡q(hardcover)
020 . ‡a1250784182 ‡q(hardcover)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1151073378
042 . ‡apcc
05000. ‡aPS3607.I4587 ‡bH68 2021
08200. ‡a813/.6 ‡223
1001 . ‡aGinsburg, Melissa, ‡eauthor. ‡0(GaAaGPL)871906
24514. ‡aThe house uptown / ‡cMelissa Ginsburg.
250 . ‡aFirst Edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bFlatiron Books, ‡c2021.
300 . ‡a244 pages ; ‡c22 cm
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡a"For fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman, Melissa Ginsburg's The House Uptown is an emotional coming-of-age novel about a young girl who goes to live with her eccentric grandmother in New Orleans after the death of her mother. Ava, 14 years old and totally on her own, has still not fully processed her mother's death when she finds herself on a train heading to New Orleans, going to stay with Lane, her grandmother whom she's never met. Lane is a well-known artist in the New Orleans art scene. She spends most of her days in a pot-smoke haze, sipping iced coffee, and working on the mural that has been her singular focus for years. Her grip on reality is shaky at best, but her work provides a comfort. Ava's arrival unsettles Lane. The girl bears an uncanny resemblance to her daughter, whom she was estranged from before her death. Now her presence is dredging up painful and disturbing memories, which forces Lane to retreat even further into her own mind. Ava, meanwhile, is entranced and frightened by her grandmother. She wants to be included in her eccentric life, but can't quite navigate Lane's tempestuous moods. Attempting to keep the peace is Oliver, Lane's assistant and confidant. As this unlikely trio attempts to find their way and form a bond, the oppressive heat and history of New Orleans bears down on them, forcing them to a reckoning none of them is ready for"-- ‡cProvided by publisher.
650 0. ‡aTeenage girls ‡vFiction. ‡0(GaAaGPL)797198
650 0. ‡aParents ‡xDeath ‡vFiction. ‡0(GaAaGPL)814605
650 0. ‡aGrandmothers ‡vFiction. ‡0(GaAaGPL)792681
650 0. ‡aArtists ‡vFiction. ‡0(GaAaGPL)787697
651 0. ‡aNew Orleans (La.) ‡vFiction. ‡0(GaAaGPL)794745
655 7. ‡aMystery fiction. ‡2gsafd ‡0(PINES)397185
655 7. ‡aThrillers (Fiction) ‡2lcgft ‡0(GaAaGPL)862122
655 7. ‡aBildungsromans. ‡2lcgft ‡0(PINES)397136
994 . ‡aZ0 ‡bZHQ
901 . ‡aon1151073378 ‡bOCoLC ‡c6273736 ‡tbiblio

Additional Resources