Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Machine  Cover Image Book Book

Machine

Bear, Elizabeth (author.).

Summary

Summary: "In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn't had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she's never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can't resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she's about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear's signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won't be able to put down"--

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781534403017
  • ISBN: 1534403019
  • ISBN: 9781534403024
  • ISBN: 1534403027
  • Physical Description: 485 pages ; 24 cm.
    print
  • Edition: First Saga Press hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: London ; Saga Press, 2020.
Subject: Space ships Fiction
Genre: Novels.
Science fiction.
Science fiction.
Novels.
Science fiction.

Currently available copies

  • 17 / 20 copies available at PINES

Holds

  • 1 current holds
Library System: Library Branch Name
Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status  
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
SF BEAR
Send SMS Text
31001003949162 NEW-BKS Checked out
Augusta-Richmond County Public Library System:
      Augusta-Richmond Co. Public Lib.
FIC BEA
Send SMS Text
31019005951358 ADULT Available
Dougherty County Public Library:
      Central Branch
F BEAR, ELIZABET
Send SMS Text
31018904695264 FIC Available
Flint River Regional Library System:
      Griffin-Spalding County Library
BEAR
Send SMS Text
31022009478584 ADULT Available
Flint River Regional Library System:
      Peachtree City Library
BEAR
Send SMS Text
31022010101936 ADULT Available
Houston County Public Library:
      Nola Brantley Memorial Library / Warner Robins
SF BEA
Send SMS Text
3102801408833 ADULT Available
Lee County Public Library:
      Oakland Branch
F BEAR
Send SMS Text
31032006391979 ADULT Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Bull St. Library
SF BEAR
Send SMS Text
31008001361696 SCI-FI Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Islands Library
SF BEAR
Send SMS Text
31008001361704 SCI-FI Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Oglethorpe Mall Library - Savannah
SF BEAR
Send SMS Text
31008001361720 SCI-FI Available
Next 10 »


Additional Resources