Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results filters

Filtered by:

Item Type

Language material OR Manuscript language material
×

Currently available copies

  • 24 out of 28 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show copies)
  • 2 out of 2 copies are currently available at West Georgia Regional Library System.

Current holds

2 current holds on 28 total copies.

Library System: Library Branch Name
Find the name of the library system and branch closest to you.
Shelving Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Status
West Georgia Regional Library System:
      Douglas County Public Library
FICTION FIC RUFFI
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
31057014302031 Available
West Georgia Regional Library System:
      New Georgia Public Library
FICTION FIC RUFFI
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
31057014040763 Available

Item details

  • ISBN: 9780525509080
  • ISBN: 9780525509073
  • ISBN: 0525509062
  • ISBN: 9780525509066
  • Physical Description: 324 pages ; 25 cm
    print
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : One World, [2019]

Contents / Notes

Summary, etc.: "In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
Subject: African Americans Southern States Fiction
Fathers and sons Southern States Fiction
Surgery, Plastic Southern States Fiction
Racism Southern States Fiction
Dystopias Fiction
African Americans
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Satire
FICTION / African American / General
American fiction African American authors
Genre: FICTION / African American / General.
FICTION / Satire.
FICTION / Literary.
Dystopian fiction.
Fiction.
FICTION / African American / General.
FICTION / Satire.
FICTION / Literary.
Loading...
×

Additional Resources