Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 2 of 24

Currently available copies

  • 3 out of 4 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show copies)
  • 1 out of 1 copy are currently available at Athens Regional Library System. (Show copies)
  • 1 out of 1 copy are currently available at Athens-Clarke County Library.

Current holds

0 current holds on 4 total copies.

Library System: Library Branch Name
Find the name of the library system and branch closest to you.
Shelving Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Status
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
NEW-BKS FIC OLSSON
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
31001003675205 Available

Item details

  • ISBN: 9781501193156
  • ISBN: 9781501193149
  • ISBN: 1501193147
  • ISBN: 1501193139
  • ISBN: 9781501193132
  • Physical Description: 258 pages ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Atria books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2018.

Contents / Notes

Summary, etc.: "In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel--perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers--a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era. 1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching--even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the anti-war movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they're called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame--the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother's untimely death. Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape, and finds artistic inspiration--and salvation--in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney's Harbor. But as the nation hurtles towards yet another war, Jørn Utzon, the Opera House's controversial architect, is nowhere to be found--and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him. As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel's lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny"--
Subject: Vietnam War (1961-1975)
Women journalists Fiction
Brothers and sisters Fiction
Sculptors Fiction
Sydney (N.S.W.) Fiction
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Fiction
FICTION Literary
FICTION Historical
FICTION Family Life
Brothers and sisters
Sculptors
Women journalists
New South Wales Sydney
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Fiction
Sydney (N.S.W.) Fiction
FICTION / Family Life / General
Brothers and Sisters Fiction
FICTION / Family Life
Sculptors Fiction
Fiction / Historical
Women journalists Fiction
FICTION Literary
FICTION Family Life
FICTION / Literary
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 Fiction
FICTION / Historical / General
Sydney (N.S.W) Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.
Novels.
Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Novels.
Loading...
×
Search Results Showing Item 2 of 24

Additional Resources