Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 44

Related electronic resources

Currently available copies

  • 3 out of 3 copies are currently available at PINES.

Current holds

0 current holds on 3 total copies.

Library System: Library Branch Name
Find the name of the library system and branch closest to you.
Shelving Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Status
Flint River Regional Library:
      Peachtree City Library
ADULT 813.54 JOHNSON
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
31022008317858 Available
Lake Blackshear Regional Library System:
      Lake Blackshear Regional Library
Adult NonFiction 813.54 Joh D.
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
34710429810322 Available
Live Oak Public Libraries:
      Oglethorpe Mall Library - Savannah
NONFIC B JOHNSON
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
10539006468297 Available

Item details

  • ISBN: 0670016403 (hardback)
  • ISBN: 9780670016402 (hardback)
  • Physical Description: xviii, 263 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
    print
  • Publisher: New York : Viking, 2014.

Contents / Notes

Contents:
I. In France -- A Weekend with the General -- II. Flyover Country -- Moline, pop. 34,000 -- My Moline -- Myopia -- Pastimes -- Economies -- Books -- III. Eighteenth-Century Beginnings -- How We All Descend from Greatness -- Ranna -- Anne and God -- Huts -- 1800 -- John Perkins Too Sees God -- Some Stories from the Life of Catharine Perkins -- The Story of Catharine Continued -- The Inappropriate Letter -- Catharine's Romance -- The Affair of the Locket -- Rascals -- The Elusive Eleazer -- Wedding Journey -- Bloomingburg -- Women's Work : Quilts -- Eleazer the Doctor -- Sorrow -- Depression -- Wars -- IV. Modern Days -- Watseka, Chenoa -- Rich in Uncles -- Summer -- In God We Trusted... -- The Dark Shadow -- Flyover -- Mademoiselle -- California -- Writer -- Silver Screen -- Uncle Bill -- Divorce -- London -- Emancipation Proclamation -- Defeat -- Yellow Morgan -- Chagrin -- Epilogue.
Summary, etc.: "From the New York Times bestselling author of Le Divorce, a dazzling meditation on the mysteries of the "wispy but material" family ghosts who shape us. Growing up in the small river town of Moline, Illinois, Diane Johnson always dreamed of floating down the Mississippi and off to see the world. Years later, at home in France, a French friend teases her: 'Indifference to history--that's why you Americans seem so naive and don't really know where you're from.' The j'accuse stayed with Johnson. Were Americans indifferent to history? Her own family seemed always to have been in the Midwest. Surely they had got there from somewhere? In digging around, she discovers letters and memoirs written by generations of stalwart pioneer ancestors that testify to more complex times than the derisive nickname 'The Flyover' gives the region credit for. With the acuity and sympathy that her novels are known for, she captures the magnetic pull of home against our lust for escape and self-invention. This spellbinding memoir will appeal to fans of Bill Bryson, Patricia Hampl, and Annie Dillard"--
Subject: Novelists, American Biography
Middle West Social life and customs
Middle West Biography
Home Middle West
Pioneers Middle West Biography
Moline (Ill.) Biography
Johnson, Diane 1934- Family
Loading...
×
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 44

Additional Resources