Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results Showing Item 47 of 52

Currently available copies

  • 4 out of 4 copies are currently available at PINES. (Show copies)
  • 1 out of 1 copy are currently available at Athens Regional Library System.

Current holds

1 current hold on 4 total copies.

Library System: Library Branch Name
Find the name of the library system and branch closest to you.
Shelving Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Status
Athens Regional Library System:
      Athens-Clarke County Library
(Send Call No. in Text Message)
31001001581272 Available

Item details

  • ISBN: 076788180X
  • ISBN: 9780767881807
  • Physical Description: 1 videodisc (124 min.) : sound, black and white ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet.
  • Edition: Restored authorized ed.
  • Publisher: New York, NY : Kino on Video, ©2002.

Contents / Notes

General Note: Silent with English, French, or Spanish intertitles; optional audio commentary and documentary in English with optional French, Spanish, or English subtitles.
Includes: a 43 min. documentary, The Metropolis case, on the making of the film by Enno Patalas; optional audio commentary; photo. galleries of production stills, missing scenes, architectural sketches, and poster artwork; a short segment about the digital restoration.
Restored under the supervision of the Murnau Foundation and with the original 1927 orchestral score by Gottfried Huppertz.
Based on the novel by Thea von Harbou.
Originally produced by UFA as a motion picture in 1927.
Opening credits, prelude -- Shift change -- The Club of the Sons -- The eternal gardens -- Love at first sight -- The Moloch machine -- To the new Tower of Babel! -- Joh Fredersen -- Dialogue with the father -- Suspicious plans -- Freder engages Josaphat -- Freder meets Georgy -- Fredersen at Rotwang's house -- The machine man -- The call of the catacombs -- Maria's sermon -- And the power's answer -- Rotwang persecutes Maria -- Freder in the cathedral -- Rotwang hassles Maria -- The transformation -- Freder's collapse -- The dance of the whore of Babylon -- Josaphat's report for Freder -- A call for rebellion -- The storming of the heart machine -- Destroying the heart machine -- The doom of the worker's city -- Saving the children -- Witch hunt -- A stake in front of the cathedral -- Maria's rescue and Rotwang's end -- Finale and end credits.
Creation/Production Credits Note: Photography, Karl Freund, Gunther Rittau ; music, Gottfried Huppertz ; Enno Patalas, commentary.
Participant or Performer: Brigitte Helm, Gustav Fröhlich, Rudolph Klein-Rogge, Alfred Abel, Theodor Loos, Heinrich George, Fritz Rasp, Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Saarbrüchen.
Summary, etc.: The story of a 21st century city run by a "super trustee" and his collaborators who live in a paradise-like garden. Workers are totally enslaved by machines and condemned to live underground. In the midst of this misery, a young woman, Maria, arises and attempts to inspire the workers to throw off their oppressors.
Target Audience:
Not rated.
System Details:
DVD, region 1, full screen presentation.
Silent with English, French, or Spanish intertitles; optional audio commentary and documentary in English with optional French, Spanish, or English subtitles.
Subject: Twenty-first century Drama
Authoritarianism Drama
Totalitarianism Drama
Labor disputes Drama
Robots Drama
French language materials
Spanish language materials
Longs métrages Allemagne
World history 21st century Drama
Labor disputes
Twenty-first century
DVD videodisc
World history 21st century Drama
Genre: Motion pictures, German.
Silent films.
Science fiction films.
Film adaptations.
Fiction films.
Feature films.
Dystopian films.
Fiction films.
Feature films.
Film adaptations.
Silent films.
Science fiction films.
Dystopian films.
Foreign films.
Search Results Showing Item 47 of 52

Additional Resources